qemu




qemu

Postby algorithman » 10. Mar 2017, 10:45

I have just been told by mixony on IRC, that he got the os running in qemu by running
Code: Select all
qemu-system-i386 mykernel.iso

on distros derived from ubuntu, qemu-system-i386 is provided by the package qemu, so you can do
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install qemu

YAY! 8-)
User avatar
algorithman
Administrator
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2. Mar 2017, 11:40

by Advertising » 10. Mar 2017, 10:45

Advertising
 

Re: qemu

Postby algorithman » 10. Mar 2017, 10:58

I have tried it this way and it kind of worked.
But qemu apparently has some differences in the virtual network - we get no response from "10.0.2.2" (which is the gateway in VirtualBox) and that makes the kernel hang at the network configuration phase (I already had said that in the video - that the kernel hangs if we get no response)
User avatar
algorithman
Administrator
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2. Mar 2017, 11:40

Re: qemu

Postby algorithman » 10. Mar 2017, 11:19

A quick glimpse at http://wiki.qemu-project.org/Documentation/Networking shows that qemu also has the virtual gateway at 10.0.2.2. So the reason why it hangs is probably that the virtual machine doesn't provide a virtual AMD am79c973 network chip by default.

Running
Code: Select all
qemu-system-i386 -device ?

gives a list of devices that we can add. I found pcnet in that list and the AMD am79c973 is in the pcnet family, so hopefully we don't need another network driver.

Running
Code: Select all
qemu-system-i386 -device pcnet mykernel.iso

makes qemu have that chip and it looks like WYOOS recognizes it ok.

Still no response from the gateway - probably needs further parameters to actually turn the virtual network on.
User avatar
algorithman
Administrator
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2. Mar 2017, 11:40

Re: qemu

Postby algorithman » 10. Mar 2017, 11:33

The pcnet device has vendor/device id 1022:2000, so that actually is the AMD am79c973.
The command
Code: Select all
qemu-system-i386 -netdev user,id=wyoos -device pcnet,netdev=wyoos mykernel.iso

should work imho, but doesn't :(
User avatar
algorithman
Administrator
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2. Mar 2017, 11:40

Re: qemu

Postby Mixony » 12. Mar 2017, 08:30

In your post you choose user mode and it needs special setup that is described under picture.
http://wiki.qemu-project.org/Documentat ... 28SLIRP.29.
by default USER mode doesn't allow ping to go trought so special setup needs to allow it.
Sorry for bad english but not my first language. :)
Mixony
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 12. Mar 2017, 08:18

Re: qemu

Postby Mixony » 8. Apr 2017, 10:21

Mixony
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 12. Mar 2017, 08:18


TAGS

Return to Virtual Machines

Who is online

No registered users

cron